IIE Faculty and Staff

Sarah Irvine Belson Executive Director, Institute for Innovation in Education CAS - School of Education

Dr. Sarah Irvine Belson holds a PhD from Arizona State University in Curriculum and Instructional with a cognate in Special Education. Her research explores educational opportunity for children with d

  sirvine@american.edu

  (202) 885-3714

Alida Anderson Associate Professor CAS - School of Education

Alida Anderson earned her PhD in special education from the University of Maryland, College Park. Research and teaching interests focus on contextual factors associated with language development and l

  alida.anderson@american.edu

  (202) 885-6214

Julie Sara Boyd Adjunct Professorial Lecturer CAS - School of Education

Julie Sara Boyd is a highly experienced mathematics educator with over eight years of secondary instruction in urban secondary schools. Boyd received her Masters in Industrial Engineering from Northwe

  jboyd@american.edu

  (202) 885-3727

Ellen Feder Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Ellen K. Feder is the William Fraser McDowell Professor of Philosophy and Social Policy. She works at the intersection of contemporary continental philosophy and feminist and critical race theory, par

  efeder@american.edu

  (202) 885-2931

Cynthia Miller-Idriss Associate Professor of Education and Sociology CAS - School of Education

Cynthia Miller-Idriss is Associate Professor of Education and Sociology in the College of Arts and Sciences and Director of the International Training and Education Program in the School of Education.

  cynthia@american.edu

  (202) 885-3740

Kiho Kim Professor CAS - Environmental Science

Dr. Kim is a marine ecologist specializing in tropical coral reefs. His research focuses on understanding the role of diseases in marine ecosystems and the synergistic effects of environmental factors

  kiho@american.edu

  (202) 885-2181

John Nolan Professor CAS - Math & Statistics

Prof. Nolan has taught at the University of Zambia (in Africa), and Kenyon College (in Ohio), and worked in a software company before coming to American University. His main research interests are in

  jpnolan@american.edu

  (202) 885-3140

Laura Owen Research Professor in Residence

Dr. Laura Owen joins AU as a researcher in residence, where she will focus on researching evidence based practices for school counselors and college advisors aimed at addressing the persistent equity

  owen@american.edu

Anastasia Snelling Department Chair, Health Studies CAS - Health Studies

Dr. Anastasia Snelling is a professor and Chair of the Department of Health Studies at American University. She has been a member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics as a registered dietitian fo

  stacey@american.edu

  (202) 885-6278

Jason Snyder Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - School of Education

Jason Snyder’s teaching and research focuses on education law and education policy. Prior to joining American University’s faculty, he served as Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy in the U.S. Depar

  jtsnyder@american.edu

  (202) 885-6209

Danielle Gervais Sodani Director, Institute for Innovation in Education CAS - School of Education

Danielle Gervais Sodani received her BA (SIS ‘96) and MA (CAS ‘03) from American University and currently serves as the Director of the Institute for Innovation and Education in the School of Educatio

  dgsodani@american.edu

  (202) 885-3744

Jennifer Steele Associate Professor CAS - School of Education

Dr. Jennifer L. Steele is an Associate Professor in the School of Education at American University, and an affiliate faculty member in the Department of Public Administration and Policy. Her research,

  steele@american.edu

  (202) 885-3762

Amelia Tseng Scholar in Residence CAS - School of Education

Dr. Amelia Tseng holds her Ph.D and M.S. in sociolinguistics from Georgetown University, her M.A. in Spanish linguistics from Arizona State University, and her B.A. in English Honors and Spanish Magna

  tseng@american.edu

  (202) 885-3098

Polina Vinogradova Director of TESOL Program CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Dr. Vinogradova is interested in the use of digital technology, specifically digital stories, in language education and in postmethod pedagogy and advocacy in language teacher development. Her recent

  vinograd@american.edu

  (202) 885-1446

Rebecca Wilner Panama Bilingue Project Manager CAS - School of Education

Rebecca joins the AU Faculty and Staff after serving as a Senior English Language Fellow in Panama City, Panama, where she was the Academic Director of the Center for English Language Immersion (CELI)

  wilner@american.edu

  (202) 885-3705